The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

“It amazed Kestrel, how people set their own traps.”

 

For the Goodreads synopsis of THE WINNER’S CURSE (TWC) click      ☜

This series is starting to grow on me.

I have to admit though that I’m not yet as attached to the characters as I hoped I would be. Also, it took a long time for me to finish this book because life and responsibilities got in the way. What I loved about the book is the world and the culture that’s introduced to us. I I think I’ve been really into this era for a while…like the late 1800s. Where everything felt grand and fairytale like. I also love the main character, Kestrel. I love how she thinks and how she doesn’t act as if she’s a damsel in distress.

In TWC, we follow two perspectives, Kestrel and Arin. I loved all the chapters, especially Arin’s chapters. There is a slow burning romance. Believe me when I say that it is sloooow. I love it! ❤️

However, I feel like everything in TWC was rushed. It started off at a good pace and then it was so fast paced that some events haven’t really sunk in yet and then something else happens. I don’t know how I feel about that….

I will be continuing on with the series though. I’ve heard lots of good things about this trilogy! They said it gets better and better!

Overall, I rated this

(4/5) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I won’t be writing a spoiler review of this because I wasn’t that attached to what happened in this book to write enough? and everything I would say won’t do it justice. We’ll see what I have to say for the second and third books.

Have you read this trilogy or just The Winner’s Curse???

Till next time!

→ Krish 💋

2 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

    1. I haven’t started the second book yet, but I really want to get into it. I feel like for the Winner’s Curse I didn’t really feel attached to the characters… Well it’s still groundwork right?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment