A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

“…You may not have everything you want, but I’d wager you have everything you could ever need, and you have the audacity to claim it all forfeit because it is not love.”

For the Goodreads synopsis of A Darker Shade of Magic (ADSOM) click 

There was a lot of hype surrounding ADSOM before the second instalment, A Gathering of Shadows, even came out. Also most of the people in the bookstagram community has read this book. I read the first chapter at the bookstore and what compelled me to buy it is that the first character we get to follow is a guy, which is quite rare with young/new adult books. I also loved the way the world or shall I say the Londons were set up. I love the magic aspect of it and the characters!

The book is pretty much fast paced (which is good) and action packed. I love the flow of the scenes. We get to follow a few perspectives but the ones that we really follow is Lila and Kell.

Also, if you’re into adventure and a kick-ass female secondary character, then this is the book for you! Now that I think of it, I haven’t really read a book that had the same magical feel to ADSOM. Hmmm interesting…

Overall, I rated this

(4/5) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Just because I feel like there is more to be had and the world has not been fully uncovered. There are too many questions! I will definitely try to read the second book as soon as I can. So far this book didn’t really stand out as much for me. But, the series has definitely peaked my interest.

Again, no spoiler section for this one… There are too many theories that I’ll just end up talking about all of them in the end.

Till next time!

→ Krish

Leave a comment